In 2000, the City established the Financial Investment Oversight Committee.  We felt it was advantageous to periodically evaluate our investment strategy and portfolio in terms of accomplishing our three-fold goals of safety of principal, maintaining necessary liquidity and obtaining a reasonable return.  After reviewing the investment strategy and portfolio, the Committee will offer recommendations to the Finance Director.

About the Commission:

The Financial Investment Oversight Committee is comprised of five members appointed by the Mayor. One person from the Treasurer’s Office of the City of Cedar Rapids, one person from the Finance or Treasurer’s Office of Linn County, one banker, one person in the financial services business, and one member appointed at-large. Committee members shall serve three (3) year terms and are eligible for reappointment. In addition, the City of Marion’s Finance Director, City Manager, and City Attorney shall be ex-officio members of the Committee.

Staff Contact:

Wesley Nelson
City Clerk/Finance Director
Contact Wesley

Current Members:

Member Job Title
Steve Tucker  Linn County Finance Director 
Sue Vavroch  Cedar Rapids Treasury Operations Manager 
Linc Aldershof Sales Manager at Verseidan Seemee U.S. Inc
Dennis Haines Guaranty Bank Vice President     
Matt Kiesling Marion Resident and Business Owner
Wesley Nelson Finance Director 
Lon Pluckhahn City Manager
Don Hoskins            City Attorney


The Committee shall meet at least twice per fiscal year and the City of Marion Finance Director is responsible for calling meetings and providing reports and information to the Committee.